Grave Mercy Book Review

th

Number of pages: 549

Time it took me to read: Approximately 1 week

Rating (out of five stars): 3

My first impression of Grave Mercy was skeptical. After skimming the blurb on the back of the book, this book did not really seem like something that I would enjoy, but having received it as a gift, I decided to give it a shot. The cover, for me, wasn’t spectacular; a friend had to point out the crossbow in the girl’s hand for me to notice it.

The romantic aspects of Grave Mercy were entirely predictable. The very minute you’re introduced to Ismae’s (the main character) love interest you could tell that this book was going to be exactly like multiple other YA (Young Adult) romances. Even though they were entirely predictable, the romantic aspects of Grave Mercy were written exactly to my tastes (I like for there to be something going on (For example: War) while there are sweet hints of romance in the background). Grave Mercy also had almost no description.  I honestly appreciate that there is a fine line between too much description *cough, cough A song of Ice and Fire* and so little description that the reader can never fully immerse themselves in the world of the author’s creation, but telling the reader the hair colour of approximately three characters and the eye colour of approximately one character is definitely not going to cut it description wise.

Overall, I thought that Grave Mercy was okay. While there are many cons to reading it, something about this book made me go and purchase the other two books in the series with the remaining Chapters cards that I had to ration until Christmas. Because of this, I give Grave Mercy 3 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

