The Mortal Instruments Book Review

Number of pages: N/A
Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1.17
Rating (out of five stars): 1

I started rereading City of Bones about 5 days ago and it has been a struggle. I have read all the books in the Mortal Instruments series and since I struggled through City of Bones so much and I will not be rereading the other books in The Mortal Instruments series, I decided to review them all as a whole.

The first problem I have with The Mortal Instruments is that the characters are awful. They are whiny, oblivious, reckless, and just plain mean, especially to each other. These characters also believe that they are all supper special, making them insufferable.

Secondly, this entire series is basically a money grab. Basically, from what I remember, the second, fourth and fifth books are pretty much useless, everything is finally explained in the third book and the last book is an excuse to introduce characters that are not necessary to the plot of this series whatsoever, but will be the main characters of the next series Cassandra Clare is writing. Cassandra Clare is truly squeezing this whole shadowhunter idea dry.

Overall, I don’t like the Mortal Instruments because the characters are horrible and in my opinion, half of the books in this series are unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

