Cinder Book Review

Cinder

Number of pages:

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3

Warning mild spoilers

I honestly have no idea whether giving Cinder 3 stars is too harsh or too lenient. There are some things that I liked about Cinder, but there are also some aspects that I found really annoying or obvious. That being said, I honestly did not think that I would like Cinder at all, but it ended up surprising me.

One thing that I liked about Cinder is that there was no love triangle. I understand that Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella, and that there is no love triangle in Cinderella, but this book is a YA novel, so anything is possible. While I’m still on the subject of retellings, I thought that Cinder was a really interesting way to retell Cinderella and I especially liked the way that the author retold Cinderella losing her shoe. After about 200 pages, I was hooked, which is the main reason why I want to read the second book in the series.

The bad thing about it getting interesting after 200 pages is that it started to get interesting after 200 pages. Before that I was sitting there reading it, thinking of ways to say how much I didn’t like. Something else that frustrated me about Cinder is that the author thrusts the reader into this dystopian world of her own creation and created all these gadgets that exists in said dystopian future, but doesn’t describe what these products do or look like. When I read, I like to have a picture in my head, like a movie that only I can watch, but without descriptions of these made up gadgets, that part of the reading experience was kind of ruined. The last thing that I didn’t like about Cinder was that some the plot twists were really obvious once there was certain information given. I really like to be surprised, and if I figure out a major post twist 100 pages before it actually happens, the book loses some of its affect.

I give Cinder 3 stars because I liked it in the end, but it was really slow in the beginning and there were some things that bothered me that just I can’t get over.

Leave a Reply

