The Wrath and the Dawn Book Review

The Wrath and The Dawn

Number of pages: 388

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 5

Part of me hates to say this because of the previous reigning champion, but I think that this book may be my new favorite book. Since reading the Drake Chronicles in 2012, I haven’t read anything good enough to beat it, but since finishing The Wrath and the Dawn last night, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.

The Wrath and the Dawn is a beautifully written 1001 nights retelling. Although I have never read the original story, I thought that The Wrath and the Dawn was well done. I was hooked after the first chapter and I fell in love with this book after 2 chapters.

I also loved the characters. Well, that’s not really the truth because I hated some of the characters, not because they were poorly done, but because I just didn’t like the kind of people they were. The characters felt like real people. The emotions felt raw and real and by the end I was in tears.

The “love triangle” (which is in quotation marks for a reason) didn’t really feel like a true love triangle because there seemed clear which person Shahrzad had chosen. Also, while I don’t normally chose a side when it comes to love triangles, with this book I have chosen a side.

Overall, The Wrath and the Dawn has become my new favorite book for its human like characters and its heart wrenching story. For those reasons, I give The Wrath and the Dawn five stars. Now, there’s left to do is wait in agony for the sequel.

You can find me on:

Goodreads and Twitter

Leave a Reply

