The Young Elites Book Review

The Young Elites

Number of pages: 335

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3

I really liked this book. You probably can’t tell by my rating. My rating is lower than I want to rate it, but is that way for one reason (because otherwise I would have rated it 4 stars or above):

1) There were some things in this book that I have criticized other books for.

The first criticism I have for this book is the one mentioned above. I have criticized other books (*cough* *cough* Cinder and In the Garden of Iden) for introducing new technological devices without explaining them, but The Young Elites does it with animals. All we know about these often mentioned creatures is that they live near water, fly, and Adelina is fascinated by them.

My second complaint is about the romance. I seemed really forced and completely unnecessary. Well, not completely unnecessary it was a convenient and cheap tool used to tug at our heartstrings.

That being said, The Young Elites left me emotionally drained and I was sucked in from page one. My mom seemed to think that being left emotionally drained after reading a book is a bad thing, but I believe that it’s a sign of a good book. If a book can make you so emotional that you feel drained at the end of reading it, then that is a truly amazing book. The other plus to this book is that I was hooked from page one and I was so absorbed in my reading that I started audibly yelling at the characters.

Overall, I was fascinated by The Young Elites and I already have the second book in the trilogy, but there were some aspects that got on my nerves. For this reason, I give it 3 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

