The Rose Society Book Review

The Rose Society

Number of pages: 395

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4.5

Be warned that there are some spoilers in the first paragraph.  The rest of the review will be spoiler free.

The Young Elites introduced us to our characters and gave Adelina the perfect backstory full of abuse and betrayal. It was fairly dark and gruesome, especially compared to other YA fantasy books *cough* Throne of Glass and Grave Mercy (two “assassin” books) *cough*. Alas, The Young Elites has nothing on The Rose Society in the dark department. Here there are countless brutal and violent deaths (caused by our favorite anti-heroine and her new gang of misfits), even more betrayal, and Adelina’s mind starts to get the better of her (from hearing voices to seeing illusions). If you thought The Young Elites was dark, you haven’t seen anything yet. This book gave me exactly what was promised (unlike some books (see above coughing fit)) – a tale of an anti-heroine exacting her revenge.

I love the idea of anti- fairy tales/ anti-heroes (I even wrote an anti-fairy tale for my French class last year), so this trilogy has been a gift to me. Adelina is the person whose head we’re in the most; the person we are supposed to root for, yet we know that she isn’t the “good guy”. I was so sucked into this book that I sated audibly yelling at Adelina, to the point where my mom kept walking by my room, asking what was wrong. Knowing that Adelina was the anti-heroine didn’t stop me from hoping that she could somehow be more like her sister; that she could go back, run away and be good. It also didn’t help me that Adelina and the other characters were very human and real with all of the internal conflicts that come with being human.  Both made this book even more emotionally draining than The Young Elites (which, in case you didn’t know, is a good thing).

The one thing that bothered me was that I still don’t know what these “baliras” are. This may not have bothered me if they had not been mentioned as much as they were.

Overall, I give The Rose Society 4.5 stars out of five because it was a pretty close to perfect sequel that fulfilled its promise of being the story of a revenge driven anti-heroine.

Leave a Reply

