Books I Got for Christmas, Uppercase Box Contents and Chapters Book Haul

101_2559

I have always wanted to do a book haul, but with saving for University (which is still a few years away), I never buy books. Fortunately, my parents bought me three books for Christmas and I also received a total of $265 in Chapters cards (Chapters is a Canadian bookstore). Without further ado, on to the books! (Side note: I apologize for the white spots in the photo above, beside my bed was an embarrassing childhood blanket and my dirty laundry and the white was the result of my pour editing skills using Microsoft paint)

The first books I received were: My True Love Gave to Me, Entwined by Heather Dixon, and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. I got these from my parents (I gave my dad a long list of books I wanted and he chose these three). I am currently reading My True Love Gave to Me (I was trying to finish it before the end of December, but I clearly failed) and have enjoyed two of the short stories (review to come in the coming days). I was happy to get Entwined by Heather Dixon because I really enjoyed the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses when I was younger (although The Wild Swans was/ is my favorite fairy tale). I was extremely happy to receive Crimson Bound, as I really enjoyed the author’s other book, Cruel Beauty.

Not if I See You First

I had also asked my grandmother for the Uppercase subscription box and it contained the book Not if I See You First along with a YA quotes calendar and a wood bookmark. I was really happy to receive this box, although I’m not sure if I will enjoy the book.

On Boxing Day, I went to Chapters because they were having a sale (30% off hardcovers) and I purchased The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella, and These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly. I had enjoyed Finding Audrey (my favorite contemporary novel) and The Wrath and the Dawn (my favorite book), but didn’t own them myself and as These Shallow Graves is normally $23.99, getting it for $16.79 was a good deal (I also really liked the author’s other book Revolution, and had heard good things about this one). I spent my own money on these three books, saving my Chapters money for online purchases (as I don’t own a credit card).

The next day I ordered Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, and a signed copy of Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Mass on Chapters’ website. I have always wanted to own a signed book, and as authors tend to not come near where I live (the life of a small town girl) I wanted it as soon as I saw it a month ago. I also pre-ordered the An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir paperback along with The Young Elites by Marie Lu separately from the Throne of Glass books.

I hope you enjoyed my first haul. Comment the books you got for Christmas/ purchased with Christmas money down below.

Leave a Reply

