My True Love Gave to Me Book Review

My True Love Gave to Me

Number of pages: 321

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Overall rating (out of five stars): 2.25

The review for each story was written after finishing that story. Some of these reviews are one to two sentences long.

Midnight by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 2.5 stars

I’m not a romance person and I am beginning to regret my decision to read this collection. I found this story so uninteresting that I marked the page where the next story began with my finger as a way to convince myself to keep reading. I also found the characters to be whiny and annoying. Overall, Midnight was not my kind of story.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link

Rating: 1 star

This one was 27 pages of confusing, disjointed, and uninteresting story. If you are going to read this collection, I recommend that you skip this one.

Angels in the Snow by Matt De La Pena

Rating: 3.5 stars

I enjoyed this one more than the first two. It was interesting and cute.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han

Ratings: 4 stars

I enjoyed this one. It was interesting and heartbreaking and I think I’ll read some of Jenny Han’s other books because of it.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins

Rating: 2.5 stars

Just like Rainbow Rowell’s story, this one wasn’t for me.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan

Rating: 0 stars

DNF. I wasn’t all that interested in this one after reading the first page, so I skim-read until I got to a part where the main character made a little kid cry and I decided to skip this one.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black

Rating: 0 stars

DNF. I read the first page and wasn’t interested.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth by Gayle Foreman

Rating: 5 stars

I loved the characters, I loved that it made me laugh, I loved the writing (something I don’t normally judge) and I loved the story. I kind of half want this one to become a full book.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire

Rating: 0 stars

DNF. I read the first page and a half and hated the main character.

Welcome To Christmas, CA by Kiersten White

Rating: 4 stars

It was quirky and funny and full of emotion. Also, what’s not to love with a story about the magic of food?

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter

Rating: 0 stars

DNF. I skim-read the first couple pages and wasn’t interested.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Rating: 5 stars

This one definitely stood out in this collection. The writing was perfect, the character felt human, and it made me feel so many emotions. I have never read a single Laini Taylor book, but now I wish that I had.

Leave a Reply

