The Wildefire Trilogy Review

Total number of pages: 1177

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 2

Rating (out of five stars): 4

There are two portions of history that I find especially fascinating: Tudor era England and mythology of any kind (although I have mostly researched Egyptian and Greek mythology). The Wildefire Trilogy focuses on mythology (because let’s be honest, the combination of Tudor era England and Mythology would most likely be frightening). Unlike most series involving mythology, The Wildefire Trilogy doesn’t only focus on the gods of one mythology, but on gods from multiple mythologies. I kid you not; this trilogy includes gods from the following mythologies: Polynesian, Norse, Hopi, Incan, Mayan, Aztec, Roman, Greek, Zulu, Egyptian, Inuit, Celtic, and Shinto.

The trilogy stars Ashline Wilde, a 16 year old Polynesian volcano goddess (I’m not going to tell you her goddess name because it’s complicated). I loved her. She was human and real. The villain also wasn’t evil for the sake of being evil; his warped mind told him that he was doing the right thing (as with all good villains).

I read this trilogy for the first time back in May/ June of 2015, so this was my second time reading it. Re-reading it didn’t take away from the emotion of the story, but rather made it emotional in a different way. The first time I read it, it was learning the truths and wrong decisions that made the reading emotional, but with reading it for the second time, knowing what the wrong decisions were made me hope (sometimes audibly) that the character wouldn’t make the mistake (even though I knew they would) and made me not want to continue reading when I knew something bad was about to happen.

That being said there were a few mistakes in the information (there may have been more than a few but I don’t know a lot about some of the mythologies mentioned). As someone who reads about mythology, the biggest mistake took away from the reading (it was an issue with the powers of the Egyptian goddess mentioned if you happen to have read these books). Thankfully/ sadly this was only an issue for the first book and a portion of the second.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed The Wildefire Trilogy, finding it intriguing and gripping.

(Side note: I am in love with the covers!)

Leave a Reply

