Not If I See You First Book Review

Not if I See You First

Number of pages: 310

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 2.5

This book confused me so much that this is not going to be the greatest review, I’m not even sure you can call this a review.

I received this book in an uppercase box as a Christmas present from my grandmother. I know I say it a lot, but I am definitely not a contemporary fan. However, I was incredibly excited to receive my first book subscription box, so I didn’t really care what genre the book was. I was partly hopeful, as I had at least heard of the book before, but hours later after reading many 2 star Goodreads reviews, suspicion quickly replaced that hope and to the bottom of my to-read pile it went.

As I said before, this book left me confused. The plot wasn’t confusing; my confusion more lies in my opinions of this book more than anything. I didn’t hate, but I also didn’t love the characters, and it was an easy read (something I’m not sure that I like as a fan   of historical fiction and quality fantasy). This was also (I believe) my first book (pathetic, I know) where the protagonist has a disability (I don’t really count certain terminal illnesses as a true disability, so the unnameable book (not the actual title) doesn’t count), and I thought that it was an interesting concept. My brain is also fairly certain that there was a love triangle (which is extra against the rules for books in genres that I don’t like), but I still can’t tell you for sure.

The first half of Not If I See You First was interesting, but afterwards my expression resembled the face I had while reading the first 9 chapters of Entwined by Heather Dixon, which was my fourth reviewed DNF. Then, after reading two thirds of this book, all I wanted was to be done with it. The majority of that final third simply felt like unimportant, “why do we care?” information.

Overall, I’m not really sure I liked Not If I See You First, which has earned it 2.5 stars out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Not If I See You First Book Review

    1. Thank you! I think it really depends on our taste in books. If you tend to like contemporary/ romance books, you might really enjoy it, it just wasn’t for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

