These Shallow Graves Book Review

These Shallow Graves

Number of pages: 488

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4.5

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was entertaining, action-packed, and well written, which are rare qualities in historical fiction.

While I would normally complain about this, as it was a mystery, the 101 short chapters were done well.  I think they added the perfect amount of suspense. I also loved the incorporation of letters between the characters and appreciated that even if the letters were short they each received their own page

I loved Jo as a main character. She was strong and opinionated, but also true to her time in her innocence. Jennifer Donnelly really has a knack for writing historical fiction.

As a very impatient and curious person (qualities I sometimes wish I didn’t have), I may have skipped to the end where the major mystery was revealed, so I can’t say whether it was predictable or not. However, I can say that some of the smaller mysteries were fairly unpredictable.

Overall, I enjoyed These Shallow Graves, as it was far more gripping than most other historical fiction books, earning a well-deserved 4.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

