Crown of Midnight Book Review

Crown of Midnight

Number of pages: 418

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3.5

Warning: There Are Some Mild Spoilers in Bold

Crown of Midnight was (marginally) better than Throne of Glass, but I still have some major criticisms.

My first criticism is of the use of the word assassin. Yes, there is significantly more blood, guts, and brutal murders in Crown of Midnight than in Throne of Glass, but when you use the word assassin I do not think of a character who would allow her targets to flee instead of killing them where they stand. When I think of an assassin I do not think about a girl stuck in a love triangle and who obsesses about dresses. I think of an assassin as a character who has reached such a low or is in desperate need of hiding their identity that they kill people for money. An actual assassin would kill innocents because they had no other choice. When Celaena is made the kings champion I expected her to kill some innocents to earn her freedom, because while killing those people wouldn’t be right, sometimes the main character doesn’t always do what is right. I guess I should stop assuming that books about assassins would actually contain assassins. My bad!

The characters were developed; I’m just not sure if I like the majority of them. I wasn’t even affected by a major character’s death. I don’t really like Celaena. She can save as many people as she likes, I just can’t bring myself to like her. I also still hate Dorian, but I liked Chaol. He was overbearing and misguided, but he was also kind and good.

The triangle of love was annoying as ever and the romance was cheesy: “The kiss obliterated her” (page 188). I was unbelievably happy when one of the points of the triangle said that he was going to move on, and I was quickly disappointed when he turned out to be a liar.

The thing that made me the angriest was the “plot twist” at the end. I’m not really sure if the author thought she was being sneaky in hiding the details of Celaena’s past, but I predicted the revelation at the end from book one without reading any spoilers. I must be reading too much fantasy.

Overall, Crown of Midnight has many flaws, but was enjoyable enough to earn 3.5 stars out of five.

Side note: re-read or read Throne of Glass right before reading Crown of Midnight. Crown of Midnight contains very little explanation of the events of the first book.

Leave a Reply

