The Star-Touched Queen Book Review

The Star-Touched Queen.JPG

Number of pages: 339

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4.5

This book was so wonderfully weird and I loved it. Well, there is one thing I didn’t love (hence the 4.5 instead of 5 stars) but you’ll know about that soon enough. I will issue a warning: If you are not a fantasy lover that is able to suspend disbelief, then this book is not for you. I will also say that I stayed up very late finishing this book.

I pride myself on being a harsh reviewer (which displeases my friends and probably a lot of other people too). Still, I like to start with the negatives. The thing that bothered me most about The Star-Touched Queen was the protagonist, Maya. When the book began I found her intelligent, but as we progressed she became quick to blame others for things beyond their control and unrealistic. I understood and related to her hatred towards the women who tormented her for her entire life, and I understood that she had trust issues because of her ordeal, but following the advice of her biggest tormentor and immediately trusting a strange woman she doesn’t even know is exactly the opposite to how I would have reacted. Had my childhood bullies given me advice, I would have dismissed it immediately, let alone followed it. Also, had women been cruel to me for my whole life, the last person I would trust would be a woman. Lastly, Maya, if you ever don’t want Amar again, then I’ll take him.

I should really stop considering myself as a person who doesn’t like romance. When Maya didn’t hate Amar, the romance had me sighing. As I said above, I’ll take one Amar, please.

I loved the writing. Just like with The Rose and the Dagger I wanted to crawl into the book and wrap myself in a blanket of these beautiful words. The first few chapters were done really well, leaving me with a new emotion after each one.

I am a huge fan of Greek mythology and I could definitely see the resemblance to the myth The Star-Touched Queen was based on (I’m not going to tell you which myth because it kind of ruins the book if you know the myth). On the other hand I know absolutely nothing about Indian mythology, so it was interesting to learn a little about some aspects of it.

Overall, The Star-Touched Queen was well written and interesting despite having an inconsistent protagonist. It has earned 4.5 stars out of 5.

One thought on “The Star-Touched Queen Book Review

  1. Such a pretty cover haha. But seriously, I’ve been considering picking this up, so it’s good to see that you enjoyed it! I really need more fantasy in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

