The Crown’s Game Book Review

The Crown's Game

Number of pages: 399

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 1

If the author happens to be reading this I implore you to read this post before continuing.

I was really excited for this book. It was released on my birthday, the cover was cool, and the premise (excluding the love triangle) seemed interesting. Because of this I pre-ordered this book in January. Then, the five star reviews started to roll in, and I became wary. For normally people multiple five star reviews would be a good thing, but for me, a person who is not normally a fan of overly popular books, rave reviews are a sign of doom. Then days after my copy arrived, a reviewer whose opinion is very close to mine posted a 1 star review. I still had a glimmer of hope, however and eagerly started reading. That glimmer of hope was promptly crushed after chapter 2.

Firstly, The Crown’s Game contains your favorite overused YA fantasy tropes such as: his magic/ soul calls to me, the love square, the secret father discovery, you’ve lied to me friend fight, I’m not that person anymore line, unnecessary POVs, characters forgetting that they don’t have certain information and using it anyway, only one can survive, and I love the girl I saw out of the corner of my eye for a split second. There are so many other YA fantasy books that have done this and while those still aren’t very good, they do it better. And before anyone asks, yes, there is a reason (although a lame one) for why only one of them can survive.

Secondly, I found the characters unlikable and the writing lacking. I could not stand these characters to the point where if the book had been slightly longer, I would have DNFed it. It was also difficult to distinguish one POV from another.

The Crown’s Game itself is more like a colouring contest participated in by children than a fierce competition to the death between teenagers. I didn’t realise fate deciding ancient competitions were equivalent to 3rd grade art projects.

The ending also left me with the question of how on earth there is going to be a sequel, because The Crown’s Game could easily be left as a standalone. There were no more questions left unanswered than with any other book.

Overall, I was not impressed by The Crown’s Game and it has therefore earned 1 star out of five.

Leave a Reply

