A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Warning! If you do not want to read a book containing sex scenes Do Not Read This Book!

Number of pages: 416

Number of times read (including the time before this review):

Rating (out of five stars): 3.75

I was a person who was not a hard-core fan of the Throne of Glass series until the amazing Queen of Shadows, so I went in to A Court of Thorns and Roses with 3 star expectations. I also went into A Court of Thorns and Roses knowing that there were sex scenes, but I didn’t expect them to be as bad as they were. Innocent people; you have been warned.

I will say that I was hooked form chapter one, and at no point did I want to stop reading. I don’t really know what it was, but I simply didn’t want to put it down.

Feyre annoyed me at some points (especially when she could not figure out the incredibly obvious riddle), but she acted how I think a person in her situation would act. She is naïve, but selfless, hateful, yet she saw the beauty in life and nature. She is also brave. I think the thing I enjoyed most about Feyre is that she was fairly realistic.

That brings me to Tamlin. Firstly, it was a little two obvious that she had to fall in love with him or something by the way he tries way too hard to impress her the moment they arrive at his estate. Secondly, I felt no connection between Feyre and Tamlin whatsoever (there was, however insta-obsession of the “where is Tamlin every waking moment” variety). If something were to happen between Tamlin and Feyre, I would not have been upset.

For the majority of the book, A Court of Thorns and Roses followed Beauty and the Beast fairly closely. Well, it did until we got under the mountain. One issue I had with A Court of Thorns and Roses being a Beauty and the Beats retelling is that Tamlin is not a beast. Please don’t argue that he can shape-shift into a beast or that he is incredibly powerful and has anger issues, because those things do not count. Tamlin starts by giving Feyre a ton of freedom and kindness, things Belle didn’t really gain until later in the story. Tamlin is also written as an attractive “God” meant to be worshipped, not a monster who learns to love and be kind. Tamlin does and learns virtually nothing, unlike the Beast.

I don’t really know what to think of Rhysand (which I am stuck incorrectly pronouncing “Rye-sand”). He shows Feyre kindness and support when she needs it most, but he still did some awful things. Also, I really want to ignore this love triangle for as much as possible.

Overall, A Court of Thorns and Thorns and Roses was compelling, but was a little too heavy on the raging hormones. A Court of Thorns and Roses has therefore earned 3.75 stars out of 5.

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

  1. I pronounce Rhysand the same as you, I can’t change it, it’s too ingrained now. I didn’t fall for Rhys but apparently he’s more appealing int he second book which I haven’t got to yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

