Anna Dressed in Blood Book Review

Anna Dressed in Blood.JPG

Number of pages: 316

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4.5

I’m heartbroken after finishing Anna Dressed in Blood. Reading this book took me on an emotional roller coaster. I laughed, I cried, my heart pounded, and I just could not put it down.

Anna Dressed in Blood is a horror book, so as a person who gets scared really easily, I was nervous to read it. Fortunately, I decided to give it a shot after having it on my wish list for 2 years. Anna Dressed in Blood didn’t really get scary until roughly 250 pages in, at which point I had to temporarily stop reading in order to not wake up 3 times in the middle of the night. Anna Dressed in Blood may not have been that scary, but it still made me sweat in anticipation for terrifying scenes.

I loved Cas’ sense of humour. I think it was extremely helpful as it took the edge off of some situations that would have had my heart pounding out of my chest. I also liked how well done the characters were. They have flaws and you can easily love or hate them. Anna’s story also had me in tears, which is quite a feat.

I live in Ontario (I’m not close to Thunder Bay though), but the story was so well done that I could suspend disbelief. I actually said “yeah, that could happen” after finishing the book. I like being able to suspend disbelief when reading, because it allows me to immerse myself in the world and just enjoy the book.

My issues with Ana Dressed in Blood are mostly small things. For example, I am genuinely curious (because this doesn’t happen at my school); is it actually possible to have different lunch hours at your school? Also, Cas has hunted ghosts for years and knows that when his cat freaks out there is a ghost, yet when his cat freaks out he thinks nothing of it. Is that not strange?

Overall, I loved Anna dressed in Blood, earning it 4.5 stars out of 5.

9 thoughts on “Anna Dressed in Blood Book Review

      1. Yep. Fickle Fish optioned it last year, they’ve already cast most of the principal roles; there’s no date for the start of filming or a release date, but I’d expect to see it out in cinemas next year. Can’t wait to see how it will stack up. Whether it will be a franchise, or if it will combine parts of both of the ‘Anna’ books into the one film?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Now that I’ve read the book your review is spot on. It was like a supernatural episode except I actually liked it. Different lunches are mostly in schools either with small cafeterias or large populations. My school has two lunches cause we’re 2600 students.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The nearest town to me has 4 high schools, with two (my school and another school) being underpopulated, one school (my siblings’ school) being overpopulated, and the final school is a Catholic high school. The overpopulated school has over 1000 students.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

