Pre-Orders and a Canadian Bookstore

I wanted to make a post all about pre-orders, but I need to explain something first. That thing is Chapters/Indigo/I have no idea what to call it, a Canadian bookstore chain. As I have said many times, I live in a village (it is so small it doesn’t qualify as a town) roughly an hour away from London, Ontario, and roughly 3 hours away from Toronto. The one thing that sucks for a book lover who lives where I live is there is a significant lack of book stores and YA author events nearby. Enter Chapters, a store I can only describe (having never set foot in Barnes and Nobles in my life) as the Canadian Barnes and Nobles. While the Chapters in South London has a far superior selection and more organised store, there happens to be a store in a sad-looking mall (for anyone reading who has guessed/knows my location) connected to Chapters which is really helpful. Most people love their local independent book store, but for me, there never was one. Without this chain book store, I might not have been able to keep my love of reading alive (I have germophobia and after working at a library (I’ll spare you from the gory details of all the things I’ve touched) library books just aren’t really an option for me)

So why exactly did I need to profess my love to Chapters in order to do a post on Pre-Orders? Well, as a person without a credit card, I order all of my books off of Chapters using gift cards. The best thing is, that being a loyal customer for years, I have never had a pre-order arrive after the release date. They have always arrived on the release day or days before, which makes for a very happy customer. I’m sure you don’t really care about that, so here are all of the books I have Pre-ordered (so far) in 2016. For this post, I will not be including paperbacks I pre-ordered (as in books that were already released and then released in paperback form later).

In January, I pre-ordered the sequel to my favorite book, The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen together as they came out on the same day.

The Crown's Game

I also pre-ordered The Crown’s Game in January. I was extremely excited to read The Crown’s Game, as it came out on my birthday, but it ended up being a disappointment.

My final January pre-order was Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (to be released in March 2017) and The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (to be released in October 2016). I can’t wait to have the final book in the Young Elites trilogy in my hands and I have wanted to read a Laini Taylor book for a while, but I’m not all that interested in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy.

In May I pre-ordered Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (to be released in September 2016). I really hope that it doesn’t let me down. I also pre-ordered Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge (to be released in September 2016). I have loved both of Hodge’s other books and I can’t wait to read this one.

In June I pre-ordered Heartless by Marissa Meyer (to be released in November 2016). I wasn’t a fan of Cinder, but Heartless sounds infinitely more interesting. I also pre-ordered A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (to be released in August 2016). I’ve been counting down the days until Torch will be in my hands.

And I Darken

My final June pre-order was And I Darken and it was the best Historical Fiction I have read.

I ordered a lot of other books with these books and there are other books that I want to pre-order this year, but these are all of the books I have pre-ordered so far this year.

What books have you pre-ordered this year?

Leave a Reply

