Shallow Graves Book Review

Shallow Graves.jpg

Number of pages: 358

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4

This book is addicting. I did not want to put it down. I stayed up late reading (something I don’t really do anymore) and I read all day today. I needed to keep reading until the very last page.

I have always loved paranormal books. It started with medium (as in the people who can speak to ghosts) books when I was fairly young, I then turned to vampires and magic when I was a little older (though I never liked Twilight), and now I will read any type of paranormal book (although I am not a Werewolf or Zombie fan). I love reading about the lore. I love reading about all the intriguing and frightening things that could be done with magic and felling chills down my spine. This book was perfect for me. It had well explained lore, it had an interesting cast of creatures and it stared a logical, sarcastic dead girl. What’s not to love?

When I was younger, I loved that reading was like watching a movie that only I could see, but I gradually lost the ability to see the book play out as clearly as I used to in my head. I loved getting that back while reading Shallow Graves. I could picture scenes without thinking about it, and pictures of characters flashed in my mind.

So this book has been very nostalgic for me, but why should you read it? I could go on about diversity, but I don’t like talking about diversity, because in my mind you shouldn’t be reading a book simply because a character is of a certain race or sexuality. This book was dark, but Breezy brought her sarcastic sense of humour to it to lighten the mood. If you like books filled with action, suspense, and humour then this is the book for you.

Also, if you enjoy books with very little romance, Shallow Graves has you covered. I spent a large chunk of the book expecting two characters to become romantically involved, but the most romance it contained was a few crushes. So, if you’re in the mood for a paranormal YA book without the standard love interest, Shallow Graves is the perfect book for you.

I found the ending a little strange and it was a little lacking on the emotional front, but Shallow Graves was ultimately a suspenseful and amusing paranormal book. It has therefore earned 4 out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

