Legacy of Kings Book Review

Legacy of Kings.JPG

Number of pages: 428

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3

I am fascinated by Ancient Greece. The minute I got home from the first day of learning about Ancient Greece in grade five, I started asking my family for books about it. The disappointing thing is that I haven’t found many YA books about it.

This year, I had been seeing Legacy of Kings everywhere, so I read the description, and I immediately put it down. Why should I care about this Alexander guy and a bunch of people in Macedonia and Persia? (I didn’t know much/ care about Alexander the Great at this point) Then came the end of the Ancient Greece unit in my Ancient Civilizations class, when we discussed Alexander the Great, and though I didn’t see Legacy of Kings until a month had passed, the next time I saw it I was infinitely more curious (the lesson here is to do research before dismissing a book entirely).

I didn’t hate Legacy of Kings, but I didn’t love it either. In fact, I was incredibly frustrated by it. There were so many “ugh” worthy moments. For example, two characters who barely knew each other, dreamed about each other multiple times, simultaneously producing every reader’s favorite thing, the love triangle (though the author tried to not make it as obvious as it was). The two characters dreaming about each other wasn’t even sweet and romantic. Instead, it was creepy, weird, and it made me want to throw up. Also, another character decided to walk 20 miles alone at night with a fair amount of gold. Seriously?

My main complaint is that this book is written as though it is a nonfiction book. The writing style doesn’t really suit a work of fiction and the story is written like an emotionless statement of facts. Too be fair, this book is probably incredibly historically accurate, and it probably took a fair amount of research to write, but the way it was written bothered me for the entire book.

The story is intriguing, though I wouldn’t call it compelling. Still, I see potential for excellent future books in the series.

Overall, Legacy of Kings shows potential, but it’s not quite there yet, earning it 3 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

