A Torch against the Night Book Review

A Torch Against the Night.JPG

Number of pages: 452

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4.5

Failure doesn’t define you. It’s what you do after you fail that determines whether you are a leader or a waste of perfectly good air.

I am not okay! Nothing I wanted to happen happened, and I don’t know if it can be fixed. I know you can’t always get what you want, especially when concerning a Fantasy series, but I just want for everything it to be alright.

I was so nervous to read Torch. I didn’t know how many books were going to be in this series, and when it was announced that there would be two more books, my concern only grew. I had already pre-ordered it, so there was no going back, but I couldn’t help but think that this would simply be a filler book and I would have to wait until 2018 to continue the story. I now can’t comprehend why I had any doubts.

I (stupidly) didn’t re-read An Ember in the Ashes before reading A Torch against the Night and I struggled with some aspects of the story because of it. I recommend you read the first book before reading book two, as it starts right where we left off.

This book took me on a huge emotional rollercoaster. It didn’t quite make me laugh and cry, but I felt the pain seep off the pages. It made my heart pound and my stomach queasy. Best of all, I couldn’t put it down.

Sabaa Tahir’s written casts a sort of spell. Its beauty pulls you in, and her storytelling makes you stay. You are transported to a horrible, yet fascinating world; a world where brutality is rewarded and kindness is broken out of you. As the story unfolds, you know that this world will completely break you.

The characters are all so wonderfully human. Strong, brave, and fierce Laia constantly doubts her strength. Helene (am I the only one who is not really a fan of her) is cold and brutal, but also loyal and compassionate. Elias (who is by far my favorite character) is so kind and honest, but he will always be a Mask.

People can complain how unoriginal Ember and Torch are, but let me say this; most things are unoriginal now. You can say every story copied another leading all the way back to the first story ever told. What truly matters is what you do with that story; how you give it life. Luckily, that is something Sabaa Tahir excels at.

Overall, A Torch against the Night is near perfect, earning it 4.5 stars out of 5.

5 thoughts on “A Torch against the Night Book Review

  1. Really glad to know it’s just as good! I didn’t like Helena much either :/ If you ever have the chance to get/borrow the audiobook, you should! I really liked the narrator for An Ember in the Ashes 🙂 Now I’m having some regrets. I walked passed the book today, too 😥 I didn’t buy it to save then ordered books when I got home. Ah D:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true, I forgot about the time gap 😆 I’ll probably marathon the first 3 books when they come out. I’m waiting on the paperback to buy ATATN anyway. I’m not surprised, honestly. They’re a little hard to get into. The only reason I started listening to them was because I walked 2 hours a day in the summer and it was the best way to squeeze some reading into that time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

