What We Saw Book Review

what-we-saw

Number of pages: 336

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3

I live in a very small town where I have never been scared to go out alone at night. I also haven’t heard about anyone near me getting raped, but maybe I’m simply too sheltered to hear about such things. For that reason, I enjoy reading books about things I am unfamiliar with like rape and the LGBTQ+ community. I like to learn.

When I finished What We Saw, all I could think about was how important a book it was. I thought it was incredibly memorable. Unfortunately, 2 days later I could not remember a single thing that went on. I want to tell you how important the message was, but I can’t remember what said message even was.

I remember not felling emotionally attached to this book. The writing was simply the writing you would find in any YA contemporary book, so it wasn’t incredibly moving or lyrical. What We Saw was simply your average contemporary book with a rape case in the background.

If you truly want to read a book about rape, I recommend reading Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston, as it demonstrates how rape could be dealt with.

Overall, What We Saw was an important book that simply wasn’t memorable, earning it 3 out of 5 stars.

3 thoughts on “What We Saw Book Review

  1. That’s such a shame! I’m reading this book for a trivia competition and I’m a forgetful person as is 😫 I’ll probably see for myself soon tho. Finally on break!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In that case, I hope you can remember it better than I did. I wish I was on break, but I don’t get off until the 23rd, I just had a weekend where I got the million projects due next week done.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

