2016 in Review

To be frank, the worst thing about 2016 for me was witnessing the fear and pain experienced by other people. For me, as 17 year old Canadian, 2016 was a pretty good year. I’ve received an offer of acceptance from 2 of the Universities I applied to, I started to deal with some stuff I should have dealt with a long time ago, I learned that it is okay not to embody perfect goodness (people make mistakes), I started writing a book (on which I have made no progress since the summer), I got to meet authors for the first time in my life,  and For the Lover of Books got 45 followers (which is just amazing, thank you). I can look back on 2016 and list all of the little things that caused me pain, but I would much rather remember the things listed above and smile.

2016 was a record year of DNFs for me, but that also means I spent more time reading books I actually enjoyed (or at least books that were passable enough to finish). Like most years, my average rating was 3 stars, proving to myself once again that I liked a lot more books than I thought I did. I also found out that most of the books I thought I read in 2015, I actually read in 2016 (ex: Crimson Bound and the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Throne of Glass books (I also read the 5th book once it came out)). A lot of my anticipated reads may have fallen flat for me, but I’m still happy with most of what I read.

As I mentioned above, I got to go to 3 signings this year, 2 of which my family had to drive roughly 3 hours to get to (at least they were in the country I live in), but I have dreamed of meeting authors for years (especially one of the authors I met this year). I was super terrified of meeting the people I idolized (yay for social anxiety), so I didn’t say much, but I will always treasure the book I got signed and the advice I heard.

I posted 60 posts on For the Lover of Books this year. I kind of wish I had been able to post more, but unfortunately school had to come first. I want to thank every single person who ever read or commented on one of my posts, but most of all I want to thank all 45 followers of For the Lover of Books, the fact that you followed my opinionated little blog means the world to me. I also want to thank Lynn from Castle on the Sea; you really should go follow her blog. Commenting back and forth with her on each other’s posts has really started to help me with my social anxiety, so thank you.

That’s what 2016 was like for me. When you think about it, was 2016 as bad as you thought it was?

2 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. Congratulations on your acceptances!! Did you get good offers? (I don’t know how the college application process in Canada differs from the US so sorry if that’s a dumb question.) I’m so happy you’ve made a lot of progress this year ❤ ❤ Signings sound so cool and even though you might not have talked a lot it's awesome that you got to meet those authors 🙂
    Thank you so much for the shoutout! I've really enjoyed talking with you ❤ I hope you have an even better year in 2017! (We're that much closer to graduating!!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In Ontario (I don’t know if it’s different in other provinces) you sign up for a website with codes given to you, and you apply to up to 3 specific programs (all three can be for the same university I believe and if you pick more than three it costs $50 per extra choice), then you pay the website $150 and the schools accept you or they don’t, then you can accept and decline offers through the website. You have to apply to all scholarships separately (I haven’t had a chance to apply to any yet). Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

