Pride and Prejudice Book Review

pride-and-prejudice

Number of pages: 253

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4

I didn’t like To Kill a Mockingbird in Grade 9, I was far from impressed with Lord of the Flies in Grade 10, I wanted to burn The Great Gatsby and I grew to dislike The Catcher in the Rye in Grade 11, and we didn’t really read any classics this year in English class. As a result of my bad luck with the classics, I wanted to read a classic and enjoy reading it. I was immediately intrigued by Pride and Prejudice. There was a high chance I was going to love one of the world’s most famous love stories, so I went in expecting Pride and Prejudice to be the first classic I was going to like.

My one mistake was watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries before reading Pride and Prejudice itself (if you haven’t seen it and are a Pride and Prejudice fan, you can watch it here). It is a truly addicting adaptation that made my heart feel full, and left me with incredibly high expectations; expectations that could not be met by a book published in the 1800s.

The writing really isn’t that hard to understand. There were some words and expressions that I didn’t understand, but going in I expected to have far more difficulty reading it than I did, having attempted to read Wuthering Heights last year. I also expected the book to be shorter, but it was actually the perfect length. I thought I was going to be bored, but surprisingly, I wasn’t.

Overall, I enjoyed Pride and Prejudice, but it couldn’t meet my too high expectations, earning it 4 stars out of 5 and a place in my heart as the first classic I enjoyed.

2 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice Book Review

  1. Aww, I love the Great Gatsby, TKAM, and Catcher in the Rye. I’ll agree with you on Lord of the Flies tho, that I did want to burn. I think I’ve tried to read Wuthering Heights 4 times now and I just can’t finish it. One day, though, because it sounds like a hot mess of drama…. But it’s great that you enjoyed it! Do you plan on watching Pride and Prejudice and Zombies? I remember the trailer looked pretty cool but I didn’t want to watch it without reading the source material first. I just need to get to it because I wanna see what the Lizzie Bennet series is all about!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To Kill a Mockingbird just wasn’t my favourite book and I thought The Catcher in the Rye was alright until I had to dissect Holden’s every thought for months on end, but I think I will always have a visceral hatred towards The Great Gatsby. I kind of plan for The Lizzie Bennet Diaries to be the Pride and Prejudice adaptation I watch, so I don’t think I’ll watch any of the movies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

