Wolf by Wolf Book Review

wolf-by-wolf

Number of pages: 400

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4

I had wanted to read Wolf by Wolf for a while, but when I found out the author was coming to Canada last year, it finally spurred me to pick it up in order to get it signed. After finally finishing it, I am so glad I did just that.

Wolf by Wolf is an extremely fast-paced novel. The pages fly by in such a way that one minute you’re on chapter 3, and the next thing you know you’re suddenly on chapter 18 and it has been an hour. I can’t remember the last time a book flew by like that for me.

While I was reading Wolf by Wolf, I could not shake the feeling that something was not right with the writing. There were haphazard flowery simile and brackets everywhere. Then I thought about it for a few minutes and it hit me. This book feels like it was genuinely written by a teenager. That may seem like a bad thing, but I find it to be incredibly interesting and unique. I love beautiful writing as much as the next person, but I find most first person YA books are written in such a way that it is clearly not a teenager telling the story, which ends up breaking the magic that truly sucks you into the story.

Yael is a hard character to attach to on an emotional level. I get why, and frankly she should be hard to connect to, but half the reading experience for me is having an emotional connection to the characters. In my mind I knew she was not going to die, and I knew she would not fail, so I didn’t need to be concerned for her safety.

Overall, Wolf by Wolf was a face-paced and unique read, earning it 4 stars out of 5.

3 thoughts on “Wolf by Wolf Book Review

  1. Nice review! I have this book on my shelf and I may read it soon. Everything I’ve been reading lately has felt hard to get into but if it’s this fast paced maybe it’ll help me get back into reading.
    That’s interesting about the writing. I’ve never thought about that before. I’ve seen those kinds of criticisms for John Green’s books -that the writing is clearly not by a teenager- but I’ve never really noticed or been bothered by it. I do like it when you can tell the age, though, feels very nostalgic for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I hope Wolf by Wolf will help you get back into reading. If you have it on your shelf already, Six of Crows might be a good book to try as well. I find John Green’s books to be clearly written by an intellectually adult, but with other books there’s more of a subtle indication that it was written by an adult. The characters are too perfect and intelligent, or it sounds like they have swallowed a thesaurus.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope so too! I’m ​gonna make my way through some library books and if I feel up to it I’ll try those. I actually do have Six of Crows; was lucky enough to find it at my library bookstore. I see what you’re saying. That sorta stuff usually pulls me out of a story but it’s better than being too young. I read several books where characters were supposed to be 18 and they read like 14 (cough cough Everything Everything)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

