Six of Crows Book Review

six-of-crows

Number of pages: 465

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 5

My heart was so confused after finishing this, and that’s exactly what finishing a good book should feel like. I was up until midnight in the middle of exams finishing this, and once I finished it I held it to my chest for a good ten minutes. I’m filled with too many emotions even thinking back to the moment I finished Six of Crows days later. There were so many rave reviews, and since I normally end up disliking incredibly popular books, I passed on Six of Crows when it first came out, but having now finished it I regret that decision. If you haven’t already, read this book!

I will say that it took me a while to get into the story. Maybe it’s because I have not and most likely will not read The Grisha Trilogy, and I therefore had no concept of how this world worked. I also live in an incredibly safe place, so it’s hard for me to imagine gangs fighting over territory and collecting information from brothels.

After I got used to the world, this book was addicting. It wasn’t addicting in the way that most books are, manifesting in the form of pages flying by. It was addicting in a way that made it extremely difficult to think about anything not Six of Crows related (which is not good in the middle of exams). I needed to keep reading. I needed to know what could possibly go wrong at the end to require a sequel. I needed for all of the characters to form romantic relationships with each other.

Speaking of romantic relationships, is it normal to ship all of the main characters with each other? These characters better be in relationships by the end of Crooked Kingdom, or I will be very upset. Also, if Kaz ruins everything with Inej, I may cry. This is how invested I am. I am not normally one to play matchmaker, but I need a happy ending for these characters.

By the end of this book, I had gone into full-fledged helicopter parent mode towards the main cast of characters. There was screaming, my heart was pounding out of my chest, and I came to the realization that if any of them died I would be completely destroyed. No one better hurt them in Crooked Kingdom, or those beautiful red pages with be coloured with my tears.

Overall, I am way too emotionally invested in Six of Crows, and it is by far the best book I have read since May 2016, earning it 5 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows Book Review

Leave a Reply

