A Crown of Wishes Book Review

A Crown of Wishes

Number of pages: 367

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 5

“Magic should consider being less pretentious” (A Crown of Wishes)

I loved A Crown of Wishes. If you are a fan of The Star-Touched Queen, I highly recommend picking up A Crown of Wishes.

I love Roshani Chokshi’s writing. From what I have seen, her writing is either beloved or confusion-inducing, but I personally love it. It is so beautifully lyrical, and it makes me ache to tell my own stories even more than I already do.

With The Star-Touched Queen, I had some issues with Maya for personal reasons, but I had no such issues with Guari and Vikram. I loved Vikram’s wit and honesty, I loved Guari’s ferocity and guarded nature (in fact, I related to it), and I especially loved the banter between them. They are wonderfully complex characters, with faults and desires. I also really liked Aasha. It was truly interesting to see humans from the perspective of someone who longs to be one. It shows you how much we take for granted, like being able to have desires and taste sweetness.

The world is so intricately intriguing. I loved being able to see the night bazaar through fresh eyes, especially after reading Death and Night, but most importantly, I loved the Tournament of Wishes. It was just as a tournament for a wish should be; filled with desire, beauty, strange creatures and terror. You truly do not know if Guari and Vikram will make it alive and intact. Reading about these mythological figures has also piqued my interest in Asian mythology.

As for the emotional impact, which I always say is the most important part of a book; let’s just say my emotions were sufficiently impacted. My heart was pounding out of my chest, my breathing quickened, and my mouth hung open. I laughed, and nearly cried. My heart felt full. A Crown of Wishes left me with a smile on my face.

Overall, A Crown of Wishes was beautifully and brutally wonderful, earning it 5 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “A Crown of Wishes Book Review

  1. I’m so far into this book right now for this one, and after reading your review, goodbye all other things I was going to do and just going back to finish this as fast as I can. I’m lovingggggggg Aasha too right now, and I really liked her addition. Your review was wonderful, and I would say a lot more about it, but I must get back to this book immediately! XD Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

