The Music Genre Book Tag: Volume 2

I was about to go to sleep one night when I thought “I wonder if someone has created a music genre book tag”, and then proceeded to come up with questions. Turns out someone has (hence the volume 2), but I came up with completely different questions, and I still wanted to share my version. Books and music are my two loves; I like combining them. I included examples, which you do not need to do. I in no way own any of the linked videos. They are there to provide examples of music from the genres, and are not necessarily videos I approve of. I tried to find the official videos put out by the artists.

There are no “rules”, I would just appreciate the regular tag “things” (tag the creator (me), tag other people). If you don’t tag me or others, I really won’t get too worked up about it.

Celtic punk: Favourite Obscure Book/ A Book with a Non-Western Setting

Under Rose-Tainted Skies

With just over 2000 ratings on Goodreads, I’m counting Under Rose-Tainted Skies as obscure. It features fantastic mental illness representation, and you should definitely go read it and add to the number of people who have.

Classical: Favourite Classic/ Book that Should Become a Classic

The Hate U Give

My current favourite classic is Pride and Prejudice, but The Hate U Give deserves to become a classic way more than the internet needs me to gush about Pride and Prejudice. If you haven’t read The Hate U Give, drop whatever you are reading/ were going to read next and pick it up.

Soul/ RnB: A Powerful Book

Exit, Pursued By a Bear

As someone who lives a fairly sheltered life, this book about rape was shocking to me. It is such a powerful showcase of what society could be like.

Cover Songs (Original) : Favourite Retelling

Stitching Snow

Maybe not my favourite retelling, but Stitching Snow is an amazing Snow White retelling that isn’t talked about enough.

Soundtrack: Favourite Book to Movie Adaptation/ Adapted Book 

download (1).jpg

If I Stay is one of the few movies that has made me cry.

Rock and Roll: An Action Packed Book

crooked-kingdom

How can you not pick one of the Six of Crows book for this question. Unless of course you haven’t read the Six of Crows duology. If that’s the case, you should rectify that immediately.

Pop: A Book with a Pretty Cover that You Lost Interest In

23203252.jpg

I was all set to order this book, but then a reviewer whose opinion I trust gave it a bad review. I still love the cover, though.

Reggae: Favourite Seasonal Book 

My True Love Gave to Me

This is the only seasonal book I could think of, since I don’t associate genres with the seasons.

Country: A Historical Fiction Book That Wasn’t For You/ You Loved

And I Darken

One of the most fantastic historical fiction books I have ever read. I eagerly await the sequel.

I Tag:

Lynn from Castle on the Sea 

Jasmine from How Useful It Is

Mandy From Book Princess Reviews

Books Are All You Need

Tiana from The Book Raven

Please don’t feel obligated to do this tag. Also, if you would like to be tagged, feel free to leave a comment and I will add you and your blog to this list.

Side note: I just turned 18, so I just joined Netgalley. If anyone has any tips, they are much appreciated.

6 thoughts on “The Music Genre Book Tag: Volume 2

  1. Oooooh, Moira, I love it!! You did such a great job with the tag. It was fun, and super unique. I can’t wait to do it, and thanks for tagging me. And I can’t wait to read And I Darken. 😀 I’e heard so many good things, but knowing you enjoyed it makes me even more eager to do it. And literally loved your answer about SOC. It’s so true. You can’t NOT pick it. And I didn’t realize just how obscure Under Rose Tainted Skies is, but wow. Less than 2000 ratings? It’s so good, too! Wonderful post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to know you liked And I Darken. I haven’t read that book yet because I have seen some mixed reviews. I still have yet to read Under Rose Tainted Skies.. such a cute cover. Cool tag! Thanks for tagging me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for tagging me, Moira! I’m surprised Under Rose Tainted Skies has so few ratings since I’ve heard so much about it. Can’t wait to read it (I say as I read 12 library books…) Have you read If I Stay? I DNF’d it years ago and didn’t think I’d like the movie so I haven’t bothered to see it. What did you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read If I Stay and Where She Went a few years ago (before For the Lover of Books was a thing), and I liked If I Stay (I would say a solid three stars if I had to rate it), but Where She Went is definitely not worth reading. I also cried disgustingly in the theatre when I went to see the movie, so I would say that the movie did it’s job. If you couldn’t finish it though, it might not be worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

