When Dimple Met Rishi Book Review

When Dimple Met Rishi.jpg

Number of pages: 378

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 4

When Dimple Met Rishi is unbelievably cute, and it was exactly what I needed after a string of disappointing fantasy books. I’m still not a contemporary book fan, and I do have some complaints, but other than that, When Dimple Met Rishi was a really solid debut novel.

I love all the characters, especially Celia, Dimple and her parents. I strongly relate to Dimple; just replace coding with books (though I did go to a one day program called Girls Rock I.T. No knowledge was retained), and cultural heritage with a distinct lack of cultural heritage. I loved seeing Dimple realize that her parents genuinely cared about her happiness. I also loved seeing Rishi realize that he should do what makes him happy, rather than what makes his parents happy. I am also officially dubbing the rich, popular kids aberzombies from now on.

I appreciate seeing phases in what I believe is Hindu (don’t take my word for it. I can barely form a sentence in my country’s second language). I used to be bothered when books include phrases in other languages without translating them, but then I remember how I feel whenever I can understand when people in books speak French. It makes me feel like the book is written for me.

One of my issues with When Dimple Met Rishi was that it would switch perspectives halfway through a chapter. There was fair warning for the perspective change, but it didn’t really work for me. I am okay with novels that change perspectives, but I prefer chapters to be dedicated to a specific character.

It was also really nice to see characters going into college/ university. It’s probably because I don’t normally read contemporary, but it was nice to read about characters in the same situation I’m in (I will be done with High School in a month).

Overall, When Dimple Met Rishi was a sweet contemporary that taught me about a culture that I previously had very little knowledge about. It has therefore earned 4 out of 5 stars.

8 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi Book Review

  1. Wonderfully written review! Aside from all the clichés that I found a bit irritating in the book and Dimple (I found her to be a bit too aggressive and selfish) I found the book charming and the perfect summer beach read. The romance between Dimple and Rishi is so adorable and I love the way Menon introduced Indian culture and stereotypes.
    Anyway, I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

