Patchwork ARC Review

Patchwork.jpg

Number of pages: 308

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3

Release date: February 28th 2017

*Thank you to Netgalley for providing a copy for review. As always my opinions are honest and my own.

I feel very “meh” about this book. There were some things I personally didn’t like about it, but the main problem I has with it is that the premise was a little too out there for me. I downloaded it (it was in the read now section of Netgalley) because I liked the author’s Wildefire series, but I went into it without reading the synopsis, which could have clued me in to how weird of a book I was getting into.

This is a personal thing more than anything, but I am a huge mythology lover. Myths from ancient cultures have always fascinated me, so I was not a fan of the villain being named Osiris. Anyone who knows about Egyptian mythology knows that Osiris was not an “evil” god, but it’s not those people I’m worried about. I’m more worried about people who have very little understanding of Egyptian mythology thinking Osiris went out of his way to randomly murder innocent people.

Speaking of myths and legends, I also didn’t like the whole “phoenix” thing. The author could have easily made up a name for what Renata is, because calling them phoenixes feels really lazy to me. I guess powers transferring after one dies can count as rebirth, but the term phoenix feels wrong here.

Speaking of Renata, I don’t really like her as a character. There were some who complained about how Karsten Knight wrote Ashline in his Wildefire trilogy, saying she was too much like how a male author thinks a female character should be written. I didn’t see anything wrong with Ashline, so I cannot speak to if Renata was written well (despite being female myself), but I can say that she wasn’t very interesting. She’s pretty much your average teenager, except for the fact that she can travel through time. She also did a complete 180 halfway through the book. She spend the entire first half of Patchwork simply trying to escape Osiris, and then, after nearly being murdered approximately 3 times, she finally decides that maybe she should try to catch and kill the person who keeps murdering her friends. She’s almost a completely different character after that. You could say that seeing everyone you care about die 3 times may change you as a person, but I still think I should have happened more gradually.

On that note, her dad’s death was way over-played. At first, it tugged at my heart-strings to hear about her dad, but as the novel wore on it felt more like the author was trying too hard to be emotionally manipulative. I mean, it was mentioned at least once every chapter. I haven’t experienced the death of a parent, but I don’t think “I’m running for my life, but let me stop to tell you about my dad” was really the right direction to go.

This book feels a lot like a contemporary book with some “Oh my God all my friends are dead for the fifth time” mixed in. This didn’t make it boring per say, but it didn’t make it interesting, and it certainly wasn’t very thrilling. It was kind of like watching a Disney movie. You know as soon as the cruise ship blows up that she and her friends are going to make it out alive.

Overall, Patchwork was more of a miss for me than it was a hit, earning 3 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Patchwork ARC Review

    1. I’m reading one now that I think will end up getting four stars, but I’m only roughly a third of the way through. I’m cautiously optimistic about Netgalley since I’ve only completed 3 ARCs and have 2 more downloaded.

      Like

Leave a Reply

