The Impostor Queen Book Review

The Impostor Queen.jpg

Number of pages: 432

Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1

Rating (out of five stars): 3.5

The Impostor Queen was enjoyable, but it didn’t blow me away by any means. I’m probably not going to continue the series, despite there not being anything glaringly “wrong” with it.

The world building was well done. When you can convince me that fire and ice magic comes from copper, you know the world building was done well. The magic and political system made sense, and it was easy enough to picture the setting, so I count that as a win.

I also liked the characters, and I think they were well done. I especially liked Oskar and Elli. They were flawed and strong characters. I really liked that despite living a pampered life, Elli is determined to learn how to help Oskar’s family while she stays with them.

I also really liked the premise. It’s about a girl who thinks she is the “chosen one”, only to have everything she has ever known ripped out from under her. It’s about her learning to find new strength. It’s about her finding a new purpose and adjusting to what life has thrown at her. The Imposter Queen makes me wish there were more YA fantasy books with themes like those.

Overall, The Impostor Queen was fast paced at points with well written characters and solid world building, earning it 3.5 stars out of five.

Leave a Reply

