Re-Reading Old Favourites: A Discussion

If you’re friends with me on Goodreads (you can send me a friend request here), you know that I started reading a book I loved in Grade 7 (I mixed up the grades on Goodreads, but it doesn’t really matter), Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey. (Did anyone else participate in the Red Maple awards that year?) I had just finished Jane Eyre, and recently finished a disappointing paranormal fantasy book, so I thought it was time to revisit it. Sadly, I was incredibly disappointed by it. I remembered how I felt when I first read it /what I should feel reading it, but I felt nothing. I could also see how poorly done the characters were.

I have come to realize how much my tastes have changed. When I was really young, I only read contemporary books. As I grew older, I fell in love with paranormal fantasy. Now, it seems that I prefer high fantasy and the occasional historical fiction or contemporary book. I kind of attribute this change to not being able to write the medium book I had wanted to write for years.

This brings me to the discussion part of this post. Have your tastes in books changed drastically overtime? If you tastes have changed, would/should you go back and read favourites from years ago? I would love to know what you think in the comments. This experience has me hesitant to read books I used to love.

                                                                                                                                          .

On an unrelated note, I will be in South Africa, likely without internet, from July 31st to August 21st. I have posts scheduled, so please continue to interact with them during this time, but I will likely not be able to respond to comments until I am home. I promise I will get to everyone’s comments by the end of the week of the 21st. If you want to get my reviews early, I will be posting any scheduled reviews on Goodreads as they are written this week.

3 thoughts on “Re-Reading Old Favourites: A Discussion

  1. Oh wow. I’ve been kind of scared to go back to a few of my old favorites for this very reason. I used to be SO big into paranormal fantasy, and while I still do enjoy reading them, I don’t end up reading them quite often anymore. And I know I’ve started looking at books and characters in a different way so I’m so scared it won’t live up to my high expectations of it. So I think I’m going to just let some books stay where they are. XD (Although I’ve always been picky so oops XD). Wonderful discussion post, Moira!! And so sorry that this book didn’t measure up. 😦 Also, enjoy South Africa!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m kind of wary of rereading for this reason. Someone I’m friends with on goodreads has been rereading books and 5 stars go to 1 star, yikes! I think I’d still enjoy what I saved from my younger years, but I would be so sad to dislike something I once loved.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

